The Evolution Of Toyota Camry From The Year 1983 To Present (Photos)


Toyota Camry 2012 model

Toyota Camry is one of the most frequently seen cars on Nigerian roads. The car is literally everywhere and it is one of the most purchased Toyota model in Nigeria.

The production of Toyota Camry didn’t start few years ago; its existence can be traced all the way back to 1983. Ever since then up till now, the Toyota Manufacturing Company has been doing a great job to give the world a good car wearing the Camry cloak.

Let’s take a walk down the history lane and see how Toyota Camry changed throughout its 36 years of excellent existence.

1. 1983–1986: First Generation (V10):

The first generation of Toyota Camry was launched in 1983. This model came as a replacement for the Corona. Toyota uses a new name, Camry—derived from the Japanese word kanmuri, meaning “crown”—to differentiate this new front-wheel-drive four-door sedan from the rear-wheel-drive model it replaces.

Toyota Camry 1983 model

2. 1987–1991: Second Generation (V20):

Just four years after the first Camry was introduced came the second generation. Toyota launched the second-generation Toyota Camry in 1987. The second generation Camry had more interior space and more variety in the lineup.

Toyota Camry 1987 model

3. 1991–1996: Third Generation (XV10):

The third-generation Camry was launched in 1992. The Camry came with lots more interior space to go along with its more stylish, curved body lines. The sedan and wagon variants had more powerful engines: a 2.2-liter four-cylinder and a 3.0-liter V-6 respectively. Nigerians gave it the name Orobo.

Toyota Camry 1991 model

4. 1997–2001: Fourth Generation (XV20):

This fourth generation Camry is slightly lighter and less expensive than its predecessor. The Camry came with two engine versions: a 2.2-liter inline-four and a 3.0-liter V-6, which produces 133 and 194 horsepower respectively. This particular generation skyrocketed to the best-selling car around the world. Nigerians gave it the name Tiny Light/Pencil/I-don-get-job.

Toyota Camry 1999 model

5. 2002–2006: Fifth Generation (XV30):

The fifth-generation model has a longer wheelbase and is taller than before, with a raised seating position for the driver and front passenger and more legroom for those sitting in the back seats. In fact, it was larger than the previous versions of Camry. The Camry came with two engine versions: a 157-hp 2.4-liter four-cylinder and a 3.0-liter V6 engine. Nigerians gave it the name Big Daddy/Big-for-nothing.

Toyota Camry 2002 model

6. 2007–2011: Sixth Generation (XV40):

The sixth-generation Camry as expected is bigger, more powerful, and better equipped than the previous generations.

The base model is powered by a 2.4-liter four-cylinder capable of producing 158-hp. The 3.5-liter engine variant with a whopping 268 horsepower endowed the Camry with serious speed. It can sprint from zero to 60 mph in 5.8 seconds. Nigerians gave it the name Muscle/Spider.

Toyota Camry 2007 model

7. 2012–2017: Seventh Generation (XV50):

The seventh-generation Camry is the first not to offer a manual transmission; the entire lineup comes standard with an automatic transmission.

The interior is a touch more spacious and is one of the first Toyotas to offer the brand’s new Entune infotainment system with smartphone connectivity functions.

8. 2018–Present: Eighth Generation (XV70):

The eight-generation Camry has sharper driving dynamics, stronger four-cylinder, V6 engine, and hybrid powertrains.

We would love to hear from you. Which generation of the Toyota Camry do you love the most? How many of them have you driven and what are your experiences?

Don’t forget to like, rate and share.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post